top of page

Fabric Shopping Excursion...

One fabric shopping trip later, and I'm back on track...sort of! Back on A track, anyways! I swear I end up with new projects constantly, even though the old ones haven't gotten done yet! But I am still fiercely dedicated to finishing some projects this year, even if they aren't necessarily the ones I set out to finish in the beginning! :-)

I am making a costume for my husband right now that should be done in the next few days, and then I am rolling directly into a few other projects. First up is another quick costume piece for my husband, which I am fairly sure I'll have done by Friday. After that, look at the fun fabrics I get to play with!!!

These are going to become cute new dresses that will be a sort of play on a dirndl, minus the apron? I'm going to have 3 different dresses - each picture above is the fabric that is going in to each dress. I'm aiming for Belle from the new Beauty and the Beast, if she was into crazy color combinations. :-D

I can't draw (definitely not my strong suit), but here's the basic idea of what I am going for:

The picture doesn't have a blouse drawn in because I'm going to make 3 or 4 blouses and the sleeves won't all be the same, so I didn't bother drawing it.

Each dress will have bloomers, a petticoat, a skirt and bodice, and a shirt. Here's a fun little breakdown of each one:

The Red Dress

This rose colored fabric has tiny burgundy dashes on it, going in two different directions so it looks like there are little boxes on it. I'm making this into bloomers for the red dress, and the burgundy fabric to the right will make piping on the cuff bands for the legs, the bodice of the dress, and it is also going to be the blouse. I'm going to use the rose with burgundy dash fabric to make covered buttons for this dress.

My favorite thing of all the sewing: petticoats! And who wouldn't fall in love with a rose pink petticoat covered in white polka dots!!! This will be the petticoat for my red dress. This will also be used to make button loops for the dress.

This will be the skirt and bodice of the dress. I love this swirl design! It's going to have piping, covered buttons, and button loops from the other fabrics.

The Purple Dress

This floral fabric will be the bloomers for the purple dress, with the dark purple (the picture to the left makes the purple fabric look blue, but it actually looks dark purple like the pic above with the multiple fabrics in it) made into some piping and maybe a little pleated ruffle at the cuffs of the legs. I'm going to make covered buttons for the bodice out of the flower fabric. The dark purple will also form the body of the blouse and the piping for the cuffs on the puff sleeves.

I'm going to make the petticoat out of this stripe, with the stripe on the vertical. This will also become the button loops for the bodice, the short puff sleeves of the blouse, and a small pleated ruffle at the neckline of the blouse.

Lastly for this dress is the accent piece for the top of the bodice. This will also become the piping for the bodice of the dress.

The Blue Dress

These will be adorable bloomers, with the pale blue piping and a tiny green check ruffle on the leg cuff bands. This will also be used for button loops on the bodice.

This is going to be the petticoat for the blue dress. I love how happy this green is! I am making the covered buttons and piping for the bodice and piping and trim for the blouse.

I am so very excited to see these three dresses come together! Will update on progress as I have it!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page