top of page

Discussing unmentionables

I know that Victorian ladies aren't supposed to discuss their lingerie even amongst friends, but I'm a Victorian Lady about 150 years ahead of her time, so I'm basically okay telling the world about them. :-)

More applause towards Heather over at Truly Victorian - I am madly in love with her pattern TV105 Combination Underwear.

These are so incredibly easy to put together, and I have to say that they are the cutest darn things I have made to date! Listen, even if you are never going to put on a corset, or bother to dress up in a full Victorian dress, I highly recommend making yourself a pair of these. You can use them for sleeping in, or just running around the house on a Saturday morning (although, maybe make sure no one is visiting at the time, because these leave the crotch seam open like they did back then). Anyhow, I love them. And I decided I wanted to make them out of this really cute white and charcoal gray striped cotton that I found at the fabric store.

All said and done, I thought the instructions were very easy to understand and execute. I believe that a beginner could put these together very easily. As always, though, make sure you measure yourself accurately! A lesson I have learned (and feel really good about) over these last few years of making Victorian things is that no one knows what your actual measurement is unless you tell them! Same thing goes for the sizes on modern ready-made clothes! If you buy clothes that fit YOUR measurements, you are going to look better AND you'll be more comfortable!

The trickiest part of this project was lining up the stripes. I have now made 2 projects with stripes, and both times I stressed myself out about lining up the stripes only to find that they practically lined themselves up (or maybe I'm less crazy about exact-exactness than I think I am). Because it turned out to be so easy both times, I am starting to feel as if lining up stripes is actually just easier than people say it is! That might change with the next striped project, but for now, I am in the "this is easy" boat.

I am a huge procrastinator when it comes to finish work, though - sewing on buttons or hooks and eyes, etc. I get all this sewing done and then the project remains unfinished for 6 months because I haven't sewn on the buttons. So I am using this blog to nudge myself into action. Now that I have posted the "I made this!" post, I will be forced to sew the buttons on so that I can get a picture of the finished product posted!

Watch for the finished picture soon!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page