top of page

The Backstory...

Many years ago, my mom got me a little kid sewing machine. It was pretty small, and I think the needle made it's up/down progress so slowly that it's surprising that anything actually sewed together. But it did, and for a year or so, despite that I was only about 4 years old, my Grandmother would sit down with me and patiently show me how to lay my Barbie dolls down on a piece of fabric and trace around their arms and legs for a shirt or a skirt pattern. She showed me how to add a little extra so that it would fit around the Barbie instead of just being a flat shape that had no hope at all of actually going on the doll. Those were my first sewing projects...clothes for Barbie.

My first sewing machine

Fast forward a few years, and I'm a teenager. And sewing was most definitely not my thing. Sewing was something that Mothers and Grandmothers did. Needless to say, I did not sew again until I was in my mid-twenties, as by then I was mature enough to realize that one did not need to be a Mother or a Grandmother to sew. I was lucky that I didn't forget how entirely, it took so long to wind my way back to it. I spent 6 or 7 years just being so-so at it. I wasn't terrible, but I wasn't very good, either. And you could see it, in the things that I made. They were shaped right and they stayed together at the seams. They even, generally, fit the person that they were made for, though it was far from a "couture" fit. And I would never want anyone to look too closely at the stitching, because I couldn't sew a straight line to save my life! I call those years the "Demolition Sewing" years. It was like a race to see how fast I could go without losing an eye or the tip of a finger. In my opinion, I didn't actually get any good at it until I hit my early thirties.

Then, shortly into my thirties, I became interested in making Victorian clothing. The sewing of Victorian clothing is what actually made me hone my sewing skills to a level at which I was pretty good at it. It would take far too many paragraphs to explain how I got there, but I place the blame for the sown seed at the feet of my friend, Laura. She set the spark that led to my better sewing skills. Though I would be self-conscious showing a close-up picture of something I had made at the beginning of my adult sewing life, I don't think I would have any qualms now about letting someone hold a piece I had made in the last five years and examine up close the seams and hand sewing, which is saying a lot.

Suddenly there I was, knee deep in the beginnings of a hobby that would take root and grow to enormous proportions. The dresses were beautiful. I loved the various styles, and how they changed so dramatically in shape basically every decade. I loved the ruffles and flowers and ribbons and bonnets...basically everything about that era's fashions. I spent hours of time looking at fashion plates online. I started buying patterns to make them. In fact, I believe that I owned 7 patterns before I actually sewed my first piece! But a passion for this particular hobby had erupted, and there would be no holding it in check.

Fast-forward to the present. My husband suggested a blog, so that I could put all my ramblings and pictures of the pieces I make in one place, and toss it out to the world at large. I wasn't too sure about it, and I procrastinated for months and months and months before getting to this post.

Here goes...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page